Many Thanks BJU

By: Chris

Nov 22 2008

Category: School, Theology

3 Comments

I don’t have as much time as I would like to devote to this post.  I am in the middle of finishing up a sermon for tomorrow morning (which will undoubtedly become a post or series).  But I wanted to say that I am extremely proud of my alma mater today.  In the past couple of days, they have issued a statement apologizing for the racially discriminatory policies that the institution has held in the past.  It was a great demonstration of humility and grace demonstrated by the administration of BJU, led undoubtedly by Stephen Jones, the current President.

BJU’s history has been chiefly characterized by striving to achieve those goals; but like any human institution, we have failures as well. For almost two centuries American Christianity, including BJU in its early stages, was characterized by the segregationist ethos of American culture. Consequently, for far too long, we allowed institutional policies regarding race to be shaped more directly by that ethos than by the principles and precepts of the Scriptures. We conformed to the culture rather than provide a clear Christian counterpoint to it.

In so doing, we failed to accurately represent the Lord and to fulfill the commandment to love others as ourselves. For these failures we are profoundly sorry. Though no known antagonism toward minorities or expressions of racism on a personal level have ever been tolerated on our campus, we allowed institutional policies to remain in place that were racially hurtful.

I am very thankful for the leadership of Stephen Jones, and for the Christ-honoring humility with which this statement was written.  It also serves as a reminder to me to examine my life for areas in which I fail “to accurately represent the Lord and to fulfill the commandment to love one another.”

1 Timothy 4:16   Keep a close watch on yourself and on the teaching. Persist in this, for by so doing you will save both yourself and your hearers.

3 comments on “Many Thanks BJU”

  1. I am just curious and looking for your thoughts. I don’t really have a problem with the statement that was made. I just fail to see why it was really necessary. Any thoughts?

  2. On the one hand, public apologies are more about making people feel better about themselves. But on the other hand, they can create a sense of closure. I think the main reason that it was necessary was to correct an unbiblical stance. Since BJU wants to have the Scripture as the backing for all its actions, this apology shows that they realize the error instead of just saying that “this rule isn’t needed anymore”.

  3. I guess I can see that. I just thought Dr. Bob’s statement on LKL covered all of that. I guess I just came away with a different impression than some. Thanks for your thoughts bro.


Leave a comment